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DISCHARGE PLANNING FOR PATIENTS PRESENTING WITH BEHAVIORAL 
HEALTH CRISIS OR HOSPITALIZED FOR MENTAL HEALTH TREATMENT  

FACT SHEET 
 
 
Oregon Administrative Rules:  
333-500-0010; 333-505-0030, 0050, and 0055; 333-520-0070 and 333-535-0000 
 
In August 2018, the Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division amended hospital 
administrative rules in response to requests seeking clarification on inpatient discharge planning 
requirements as well as implementing requirements given passage of HB 3090 (2017), codified in  
ORS 441.053. These rule changes address general discharge planning requirements including 
specific requirements for discharging a patient hospitalized for mental health treatment or releasing 
a patient from the emergency department who presented with a behavioral health crisis.  
 
About this law 
Pursuant to ORS 441.053, a hospital must adopt and implement policies for the release of a patient 
from the emergency department who presented with a behavioral health crisis. The law requires the 
policy, at a minimum, to meet the same policy requirements for a patient being discharged who was 
hospitalized for mental health treatment. Additionally, discharge requirements for patients 
hospitalized for mental health treatment were revised in 2018 to include definitions and clarify the 
responsibilities of a member of the patient's care team. The 2018 changes did not affect discharge 
planning requirements necessary for all patients. 
 

Inpatient Discharge Policy Requirements 
• Encourage patient to sign authorization form and identify lay caregiver to participate 

in discharge planning; 
• Provide information on benefits of involving lay caregiver and disclosing health 

information and limits to disclosure; 
• Patient risk assessment; 
• Patient long-term needs assessment; 
• Care coordination including transitioning to outpatient treatment that includes one or 

more of the following: community-based providers, peer support, lay caregivers or 
others who can implement the patient's plan of care; 

• Schedule follow-up appointment that occurs within 7 days of discharge. If a follow-
up appointment cannot be scheduled within 7 days, document why; 

• Policy must be publicly available by posting on the hospitals website and providing a 
copy to the patient upon admission and discharge. The policy may be in the form of a 
brochure or written summary of the policy that is easily understood.  
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https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/PROVIDERPARTNERRESOURCES/HEALTHCAREPROVIDERSFACILITIES/HEALTHCAREHEALTHCAREREGULATIONQUALITYIMPROVEMENT/Pages/forms.aspx#Hospital
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors441.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors441.html
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Release from Emergency Department Policy Requirements 
• Same requirements as above; 
• Behavioral health assessment conducted by a behavioral health clinician; 
• Patient risk assessment and if indicated development of a safety plan and lethal 

means counseling; 
• Process for case management; 
• Process to arrange for caring contacts to transition a patient to outpatient services. 

Caring contacts must be attempted within 48 hours of release. 
 
Compliance deadline 
Hospitals were required to be in compliance with these discharge requirements by December 1, 
2018.  
 
Caring contacts 
Caring contacts are brief communications between the patient and a provider to successfully 
transition the patient to outpatient services. Following the release of the 2022 Legislative Report, 
“Emergency Department Discharge Practices for Behavioral Health Crisis Care: A Statewide 
Survey of Hospitals,” administrative rules were amended to address the barrier noted in the report 
that there is a lack of approved staff to provide caring contacts. Effective, January 29, 2024, the 
provider can be a behavioral health clinician, a supervised qualified mental health associate, peer 
support specialist, peer wellness specialist, family support specialist, youth support specialist, or a 
registered nurse with training, experience, and competency in conducting a suicide risk assessment, 
lethal means counseling, and safety planning.  A provider may also be a hotline crisis counselor 
supervised by or working under the direction of a clinician. Peer support, peer wellness, family 
support and youth support specialists are persons certified by the Oregon Health Authority, Health 
Systems Division who provide supportive services to persons receiving mental health or addiction 
treatment.    

- Caring contacts can be facilitated through a contract with a qualified community based 
behavioral health provider or through a suicide prevention hotline; 

- A caring contact may be conducted in person, telemedicine or by phone; and 
- A caring contact must be attempted within 48 hours of release from the emergency 

department if a patient has attempted suicide or experienced suicidal ideation.  
A hospital must consider the needs and resources of the patient when determining the best means to 
contact the patient to ensure a safe transition. For example, if a patient is houseless or does not have 
access to a phone, discuss with the patient what may be the best way to contact them for follow-up 
care.  
 
Caring contacts after a behavioral health crisis patient released from the emergency 
department  

A caring contact process is REQUIRED for patients who attempted suicide or 
experienced suicidal ideation and must occur within 48 hours of release.  

Not all patients that present to the emergency department with a behavioral crisis are required to 
have a caring contact after release. Caring contacts is one evidenced-based practice supported by 
many mental health organizations. OAR 333-520-0070(4)(g) allows a hospital to arrange for caring 
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contacts or other process to arrange for follow-up services to transition the patient to outpatient 
services. The intent of ORS 441.053 is to ensure that hospitals develop a process to ensure that 
patients seen in the emergency department for a behavioral health crisis are connected to 
appropriate follow-up services after release. Connection to follow-up services may take a few days 
or even weeks so hospitals must ensure that the processes developed include appropriate follow-up 
with the patient until the transition to outpatient services occurs.  
 
Providers that conduct caring contacts 
The following providers may conduct caring contacts:  

• Certified by DHS as a: 
- Peer support specialist; 
- Peer wellness specialist;  
- Family support specialist;  
- Youth support specialist; or 

• Hotline counselor supervised or working under the direction of a clinician; or 
• Qualified Mental Health Associate (QMHA) who is delivering services under the direct 

supervision of a Qualified Mental Health Professional (QMHP). 
• Clinician whose authorized scope of practice includes mental health diagnosis AND 

treatment. 
• A registered nurse with training, experience, and competency in conducting a suicide risk 

assessment, lethal means counseling, and safety planning.  
 
Connecting a patient to follow-up services  
Hospitals may use other staff, including registered nurses, to conduct a process to arrange for 
follow-up services to provide necessary connections and supports to patients until the patient is 
transitioned to and receives follow-up outpatient services. 
 
Required follow-up appointments  
Hospitals must attempt to schedule a follow-up appointment that occurs within 7 calendar days 
from inpatient discharge or release from the emergency department. If the hospital is unable to meet 
this time frame, it must identify why. It is the hospital's responsibility to determine the best means 
of recording this information.  
 
Specific training courses for a registered nurse to conduct a caring contact 
Each hospital is responsible for identifying in its policy what training, experience, or competence is 
necessary to determine a RN’s ability to conduct a suicide risk assessment, lethal means counseling, 
and safety planning. Compliance must be documented in the RN’s personnel record.   
 
Qualified Mental Health Associate (QMHA) and Qualified Mental Health Professional 
(QMHP) 
In accordance with OAR 309-019-0105 and 0125: 
A Qualified Mental Health Associate (QMHA) is an individual delivering services under the 
direct supervision of a QMHP who meets the following minimum qualifications as authorized by 
the Local Mental Health Authority or designee: 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=301123
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=301126
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• Bachelor’s degree in a behavioral science field; or 
• A combination of at least three years of relevant work, education, training, or experience; or 
• A qualified Mental Health Intern, as defined in OAR 309-019-0105. 

 
The QMHA must be able to demonstrate the minimum competencies specified under OAR 309-
019-0125. 
 
A Qualified Mental Health Professional (QMHP) is a licensed medical practitioner including an 
Oregon licensed physician, nurse practitioner, or physician assistant whose training, experience, 
and competence demonstrates the ability to conduct a mental health assessment and provide 
medication management as documented by the Local Mental Health Authority (LMHA). A QMHP 
must meet the following minimum qualification: 

• Bachelor’s degree in nursing and licensed by the State of Oregon;  
• Bachelor’s degree in occupational therapy and licensed by the State of Oregon; 
• Graduate degree in psychology, social work, recreational art or music therapy, or behavioral 

science field; 
• An equivalent degree as evidenced by providing transcripts indicating applicable 

coursework meeting the required competencies and approved by a Division certified 
behavioral health provider; or 

• A qualified Mental Health Intern, as defined in OAR 309-019-0105. 
 
A QMHP must be able to demonstrate the minimum competencies specified under OAR 309-019-
0125. 
 
 
Coordination of care and case management  
The Department of Consumer and Business Services has promulgated administrative rules to 
address deficiencies in services provided to patients experiencing behavioral health crises and who 
are transitioning from hospital care to community-based care. The scope of services that must be 
provided can be found in OAR 836-053-1403. Please contact Brooke Hall with questions about this 
rule provision at brooke.m.hall@dcbs.oregon.gov. Both commercial carriers and coordinated care 
organizations will be required to provide the services identified. Hospitals should contact insurers 
directly to learn what billing requirements have been established to ensure there is a mechanism for 
reimbursement for these services.  
 
Oregon Health Authority – Contact Information: 
 
Compliance requirements & Complaints - Public Health Division, Health Care Regulation & 
Quality Improvement 
Please contact the Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division for information about hospital 
compliance requirements at mailbox.hclc@odhsoha.oregon.gov or 971-673-0540. To make a 
complaint about hospital services go to www.healthoregon.org/facilitycomplaints 
 

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=301123
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=242668
mailto:brooke.m.hall@dcbs.oregon.gov
mailto:mailbox.hclc@odhsoha.oregon.gov
https://www.oregon.gov/OHA/PH/ProviderPartnerResources/HealthcareProvidersFacilities/HealthcareHealthCareRegulationQualityImprovement/Pages/complaint.aspx
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Local Behavioral Health Resources - Health Systems Division Please contact the Oregon Health 
Authority, Health Systems Division for information about local behavioral health resources at (503) 
945-5772 or visit the following website: https://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH/Pages/CMH-
Programs.aspx 
 
HB 3090 Legislative Reports - Health Policy and Analytics Division 
HB 3090 (2017 Oregon Laws, Chapter 272 - Section 3) also requires hospitals to provide to the 
Oregon Health Authority information about the adoption and implementation of policies in order to 
prepare a report to the Oregon Legislative Assembly. The Oregon Health Authority, Health Policy 
and Analytics Division conducted an online survey of hospitals in 2019 and again in 2021. The 
legislative report is available at 
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le4272.pdf.  

https://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH/Pages/CMH-Programs.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/HSD/AMH/Pages/CMH-Programs.aspx
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2017orlaw0272.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le4272.pdf

